Museum of Urban Transport In Brussels


Once upon a time there were two friends who met each other at university.  Their love for folk music makes them compose and write together.  Three years and numerous concerts later, they decide to...

person Artiste enregistré ici
Voir l'artiste

In 1897, at the initiative of Edmond Parmentier, a building contractor, a tram line was built to connect the colonial part of the World Exhibition in Tervuren with the rest of the city.

Tervurenlaan was still under construction at that time. Originally, the depot also included a small workshop, a power station, a house and an office building. Two years later the SA Les Tramways Bruxellois bought the domain and carried out major renovation works. As of that moment there were three depots, a large lamp storage and maintenance site, next to a house in neo-renaissance style, complemented with a small building and a shed. The current hangars, six bays long, were built between 1897 and 1908 by the contractors Jean and Pierre Carsoel. In one depot the original forge was preserved; it is still used by the MIVB/STIB. Over the years, the depot lost its importance and the idea to house a museum in the vacant space became concrete in 1982. Between 2007 and 2009 it was completely restored: the roofing, the metal frames and high glass canopies were checked and repaired where necessary. Thus the museum with its collection of trams, buses, trolley buses and taxis was completely restored.

Museum of Urban Transport In Brussels

checkOuvert au public

placeAvenue de Tervuren, 364 - 1150 Woluwé-St-Pierre

phone+32 (0)2 515 31 10

    See the map on       
Google Maps

Museum of Urban Transport In Brussels

Other places to discover