Le Cirio

Natalie Prass

While the cat is purring on the confortable seats of the Café Cirio, the waiters move around.  This former tearoom for Italian specialties founded in 1886 has, over the years, become THE Brussels...

person Artiste enregistré ici
Voir l'artiste

In 1883, the architect Charles Gys supervised the construction of ten investment properties with shops on the ground floor for the construction company ‘Les Constructions Réunies’, a kind of counterpart to the buildings erected on rue Henri Maus on the other side of the Bourse.

Enhanced with decorative elements in bluestone, the cemented façade of number 18 was given a beautiful store front by the decorator Henri Coosemans. Made in 1909, it combines wood and marble in a neo-Renaissance inspired décor. Fine little wooden columns with bronze ionic capitals support elegant arcatures, while grotesque themes crown the central entrance beautifully. As for the interior, it has been admirably preserved, as we can see from the mirrors and panelling which are still in place, giving the premises a warm atmosphere. Finally, it’s interesting to note that Le Cirio was originally a retail shop and restaurant serving Italian specialities. Francesco Cirio, whose factory was established in Turin, had opened 18 points of sale in Europe including Moscow, Zurich, Paris and Saint-Petersburg. The Brussels branch is the only one which still exists, and which, despite a few changes, still has its original décor. A date on the bar (1886) possibly indicates when the works were completed.

Le Cirio

checkOuvert au public

placeRue de la Bourse, 18 - 1000 Bruxelles-Ville

Other places to discover