Founded in 1880 by Louis Verschueren, the brewery that bears his name has earned a reputation as a Mecca of Saint-Gilles life.
The shop front, in modernist style with hints of Art Deco, was designed in 1935 by architect G. Beautrix who punctuated it with engaged columns faced with ceramic tiles. The perforated canopy with a wide overhang has been preserved. Inside, the room was paved with tiles of yellow ochre, dark ochre and grey, forming geometric patterns, while the wooden counter is decorated with ceramic tiles bearing figurative motifs that echo the brewery’s function. The walls, covered with oak panelling and mirrors, and the three Art Deco light fittings consisting of a plate of opal glass framed in brass, round off this authentic decor that contributes to the success of the establishment.
The brewery served as the secret headquarters of the Resistance during the Second World War, but now welcomes tourists and residents who enjoy its unique atmosphere.
Ouvert au public
11-13 parvis de saint-Gilles - 1060 Saint-Gilles