Museum of Funerary Art – formerly Atelier Ernest Salu

The Bony King of Nowhere

He arrived alone, a guitar in his hand.  Tall, calm, and generous. We filmed  Bram alias The Bony King of Nowhere the day he released his third album.  The music of this Ghent artist is powerfu...

person Artiste enregistré ici
Voir l'artiste

When funerary art was still highly regarded, the workshops Salu enjoyed great fame in the capital. The first of the Salu family to focus on sculpture was Ernest Salu. His teacher was Guillaume Geefs.

In 1872 Salu was already fully active, but it was not until 1881 that he built a workshop that would continue to expand until its closure in 1984. Ernest Salu worked as a stonemason on the construction of the Bourse (stock market), where he met A. Rodin and J. Dillens. His studio, which is now converted into a museum of funerary art, is not far from the cemetery of Laeken. The buildings form a unique, perfectly preserved whole and include an important collection of plaster casts. The display window of the store is an ode to hard stone, and the facade with pilasters and carved pediment take you into the world of the Salu dynasty. Somewhat further down, two eagles watch a monumental gate that leads to a pleasant winter garden built in 1912. In the back there are several workshops where the light enters abundantly. They are connected with the sculptor’s home through a gallery.

In recent years, maintenance works have been carried out in order ensure the survival of this place.

Museum of Funerary Art – formerly Atelier Ernest Salu

closeNon accessible

placeParvis Notre Dame, 16 - 1020 Laeken

    See the map on       
Google Maps

Museum of Funerary Art – formerly Atelier Ernest Salu

Other places to discover